Site Map
“The poles, which are called the cardines, and the vertices terminate the axis of the sphere and are points that never move… On the material sphere there are two principal poles, one the northern, also called Arcticus and Borealis, the other the southern, called Antarcticus." (Cosmographiae introductio, chap. II - Hessler 2008)